Rio Olympic Games 2016

The 2016 Summer Olympics (Jogos Olímpicos de Verão de 2016) known as the Games of the XXXI Olympiad, and commonly known as Rio 2016 will take place in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil starts on 5th August 2016 and ends August 21st. More than 10,500 athletes from 206 countries will take part in this sporting event. The opening ceremony begins at 18:00 BRT (UTC−3), Friday August 5th on the Maracanã Stadium in Rio de Janeiro. First sport events (football matches) will take place on Wednesday, August 3rd.

Time in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Time difference between me and Brazil

Your Local Time
Rio Current Time
In August 2016 you are X hours ahead/behind Rio time.

During the Games of the XXXI Olympiad which take place in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, BRT (Brasilia Standard Time) is in use. BRT is 3 hours behind UTC (Universal Time Coordinated). In August you are X hours ahead/behind UTC. So, time difference between your local time and Rio time during Olympic Games is Y hours. That means you should add/subtract X hours to/from Rio time to get your local time, and subtract/add X hours from/to your time to get Rio time. See more: Rio de Janeiro Time to My Time

Olympic Sports

More than 10,500 athletes from 206 countries will take part in 32 sports in 41 disciplines during 306 olympic events.

List of Sports on the Olympic Games in RIO 2016

(Click on the link to get the event schedule by sport) Archery, Athletics, Badminton, Basketball, Boxing, Canoe, Cycling, Diving, Equestrian, Fencing, Football, Golf, Gymnastics, Handball, Hockey, Judo, Modern Pentathlon, Opening and Closing Ceremonies, Rowing, Rugby, Sailing, Shooting, Swimming, Synchronised Swimming, Table Tennis, Taekwondo, Tennis, Triathlon, Volleyball, Volleyball - Beach, Water Polo, Weightlifting, Wrestling

Olympic Venues

Venues of the 2016 Summer Olympics will be located in four geographically segregated Olympic areas of Rio de Janeiro: Barra da Tijuca, Copacabana, Deodoro, and Maracanã. Additionaly, four venues outside Rio will host football events, in the cities of Belo Horizonte, Brasília, Salvador and São Paulo.

List of all Olympic Venues in RIO 2016

(Click on the link to get the event schedule by venue)
Barra da Tijuca:
Carioca, Future Arena, Maria Lenk Aquatic Center, Olympic Aquatics Stadium, Olympic Golf Course, Olympic Tennis Centre, Pontal, Rio Olympic Arena, Rio Olympic Velodrome, Riocentro
Beach Volleyball Arena, Fort Copacabana, Lagoa Stadium, Marina da Glória
Deodoro Aquatics Centre, Deodoro Stadium, Mountain Bike Centre, Olympic BMX Centre, Olympic Equestrian Centre, Olympic Hockey Centre, Olympic Shooting Centre, Whitewater Stadium, Youth Arena
Maracanã, Maracanãzinho, Olympic Stadium, Sambódromo
Amazônia Arena, Arena Corinthians, Fonte Nova Stadium, Mané Garrincha Stadium, Mineirão
Map of the Olympic Venues in Rio de Janeiro (RIO 2016)